Transform Mid-Atlantic Announces 2022 Award Winners

Award Winner Press Release Graphic

Frederick, MD – Transform Mid-Atlantic, a non-profit association of over 37 institutions of higher education in Maryland, Washington, DC, and Delaware, is pleased to announce the winners of its 2022 Awards Program. Recognizing distinguished faculty, administrators, students, and campus-community partnerships, the awards highlight achievements in service-learning, civic leadership, and community engagement that enhance student learning and positively impact communities. An awards ceremony for winners, their invited guests, and campus representatives, will take place on Tuesday, December 13, from 4:00-6:00 pm, on the campus of Hood College in Frederick, Maryland. 

TMA’s awards program takes place annually, with nominations accepted in the spring and winners announced in the fall. For more information about the awards and to read about previous winners, visit Following the December ceremony, a program detailing the full accomplishments of this year’s awards will be published. 

2022 Award Winners 

Dr. Dawn Lewis, Prince George’s Community College, is the winner of the 2022 Alan G. Penczek Service-Learning Faculty Award, Community College Category, in recognition of her excellence in integrating service-learning into the curriculum of the Psychology of Women course and her commitment to advancing student learning through equitable and reciprocal community engagement and service. 

Dr. Yolandra Plummer, University of the District of Columbia, is the winner of the 2022 Alan G. Penczek Service-Learning Faculty Award, Public University Category, in recognition of her distinguished career that has contributed to the development of new generations of public servants, her work as principal investigator of the Paving Access Trails to Higher Security program and its year-long service-learning placements for students, and for her efforts to expose students to public policy and social justice issues that foster empathy, critical consciousness, and self-awareness. 

Dr. Joan Serafin, Frostburg State University, is the winner of the 2022 Global Citizenship Award, in recognition of her commitment to and scholarship of developing globally engaged curricula and opportunities for students at FSU to understand their place and purpose in the greater world, and in turn raising the profile of FSU as a leading institution in the global education field. 

Dr. Maranda Ward, The George Washington University, is the winner of the 2022 Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion-Civic and Community Engagement (JEDI-CCE) Award, honoring her engaged scholarship that examines the impact of structural racism and implicit bias in the health professions field, as well as the reciprocal nature of her work and deference for community-based knowledge. 

Dr. Sean Cleary, The George Washington University, is the winner of the 2022 Campus-Community Partnership Award, in recognition of the impact that “The Autism Experience: A Public Health Experience” has had in improving the quality of life of autistic adults and their families and of the engagement of students in direct service-learning opportunities in the community.  

Dr. Diane McMahon, Allegany College of Maryland, Ms. Jennifer Haydel, Montgomery College, and Mr. Joseph Bubman, Urban Rural Action, are the winners of the 2022 Civic Engagement Award for the “Basic Needs Security Collaboration” project, which included high-impact training opportunities and community-centered dialogue that brought students and community organizations together to tackle complex challenges in the region. 

Ms. Lena Morreale Scott, University of Maryland College of Education, is the winner of the 2022 Civic Leadership Award, in recognition of her advocacy for civic education in Maryland schools and her role in founding the Maryland Civic Education Coalition, initiatives which have transformed the lives of countless students, educators, and community members. 

Ms. Michele Wolff, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (retired), is the winner of the 2022 Institutional Leadership Award in recognition of her long tenure at UMBC’s The Shriver Center, during which time she embraced the development of equitable and just campus-community partnerships which impacted thousands of UMBC students. 

Ms. Abigail Cohen, Manager, Partnerships, District of Columbia Public Schools is the winner of the 2022 P20 Partnership Award, in recognition of her ongoing efforts to strengthen the District of Columbia Public Schools’ relationship with the higher education and non-profit sectors in Washington, DC, and to advance K-12 and university student service-learning opportunities and college, career, and civic/community readiness. 

Mr. Daniel Khoshkepazi, University of Baltimore, is the winner of the 2022 Excellence in Student Service Award, honoring his exceptional service as a leader in student government and his unflagging advocacy on behalf of the University of Baltimore student body to create a more just, equitable, and inclusive campus community. 

About Transform Mid-Atlantic 

Transform Mid-Atlantic, formerly Campus Compact Mid-Atlantic, is the largest higher education association in the Mid-Atlantic region, with 37 members comprising public, private, 2-and 4-year colleges and universities. The mission of TMA is to mobilize the collective commitment and capacity of higher education and community partners in the region to develop global citizens and co-create just, equitable, and sustainable institutions and communities. For more information visit 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *